A type of incorporated place in 49 states and the District of Columbia. In 23 states and the District of Columbia, some or all cities are not part of any Minor Civil Division (MCD), and the Census Bureau also treats these as county subdivisions, statistically equivalent to MCDs.


Related terms: Incorporated place, Minor Civil Division (MCD)


Related help topics: Search using Geography Overview, Selecting Geographic Areas on a Map